Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, one of the best things that travel blogging has done for me is to give me a whole new friendship group of fellow wanderlusters. People who get just as excited as me about the thought of planning a road trip; who think it’s totally normal to lie awake at night thinking about your next holiday; and get ridiculously excited about a particular place you must eat in on your next visit to Spain. In short, I’ve found my tribe.
So I was absolutely thrilled to be nominated by Vagabond Baker aka Rachel for a Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. There are some totally amazing female travel bloggers out there and Rachel is definitely one of them. If you haven’t checked out her site you should (travel and cake – what’s not to like?)
The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award recognizes the unique voices of women bloggers around the world and comes with ten questions from Rachel:
1. What was your very first blog post about?
My first blog post was called Decisions, Decisions and I wrote it in 2011 after making the huge decision to give up my job to go travelling. After failing to get a promotion at work I realised that I didn’t want to sit around and wait for something exciting to happen to me, I was going to go out and do it. I decided to take a career break and made a list of 30 things around the world I’d always wanted to do before I turned 30, and that’s how my 30b430 list was created. At the time it was such a huge, life-changing decision to make and it felt like a great way to start my blog.
2. Have you ever visited somewhere because of a book? Where and what book?
I went to Japan in 2005 after reading Hokkaido Highway Blues. I just loved the interactions the author Will Ferguson had with local people as he hitchhiked his way through the country. I travelled around for a month and had an amazing time. Even though I didn’t speak any Japanese everyone was so kind and helpful to me, even when I was getting lost on the subway in Tokyo or going four hours in the wrong direction on a bullet train!
I loved my trip so much that I even managed to persuade my now husband Mr A to go there on our honeymoon next year and planning is already well-underway.
We’re also reading this book for next month’s #travelbookclub – a book club which meets on Twitter – so if you want to get involved just read the book and join us on Twitter on October 7 at 9pm BST.
3. Has blogging changed the way you see the world?
Good question! I’m not sure it has really. I’ve always loved exploring, getting off the beaten track and meeting local people. And I’ve always shared my travel stories with people (and have bored many of my friends and family for hours.) So now it’s nice to have an audience that actually wants to hear about it! The thing it has changed is that I’ve had to become more organised about the way I travel – I used to be a lot more plan-as-I-go. Also, I drive Mr A crazy because I never let him put anything down in a hotel room until I’ve taken photos of it!
4. Name one food that you found on your travels that you can’t get back home but you crave!
Oh my goodness – there is so much! I absolutely loved the empanadas in Argentina and ate them most days (very unhealthy of me!) Even though I’ve found them in the UK they’re just never as good.
empanadas in Argentina

They just don’t taste as good…

5. Have you ever fallen so much in love with a place you never wanted to leave, you could see yourself living there?
There are many places I’ve fallen in love with and both Colombia and Burma (Myanmar) are very close to my heart. However, no matter how much I travel, I always love to come home to the UK, so I don’t think I could ever see myself living permanently in another country.
Shwedagon Pagoda Yangon Burma

The beautiful Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon, Burma

6. Name one non-obvious item that you can’t travel without
Yorkshire Tea. Although is that pretty obvious for a Yorkshire girl? Teabags are brilliant to travel with, they’re really easy to pack; will always pep you up on a bad day and are a great way to meet other people in hostels etc. You won’t believe how many of my travel friendships have started with the words: “Do you fancy a cuppa?”
7. Planes, trains, boats or automobiles? What’s your ultimate favourite way to travel the world?
Annoyingly, for someone who loves travel I am the world’s worst when it comes to travel sickness. I get queasy on every form of transport, bar trains. So they are definitely my number one way to travel!
8. Share a treasured souvenir from your adventures.
I tend not to buy too much on my travels as I have no way to bring it all back with me! But when I do purchase things I like to get items for my home, as I love to fill it with memories of my trips. One of my favourite things I have is this basket that I bought from a market in Zambia, which I use to store newspapers in. I love that it’s so colourful and it really reminds me of the feelings I had in the country. It was a bit of a mission getting it back to the UK though, I had to take in on the aeroplane as my hand luggage!
Zambia market

Didn’t think about how I’d get that home when I bought it

9. Have you ever worked on your travels? Were they good or bad experiences?
As a journalist I’ve worked in a few different countries and have had mixed experiences. I spent a month working in Qatar and really struggled with some of the big culture differences there. However, one of my favourite working trips was to Zambia, where I completely feel in love with the country and the people.
10. Christmas: at home or away?
At home, for sure! I’ve spent one Christmas away from home in Argentina and, although it was fun, it just didn’t quite feel right. To me Christmas is all about family and little traditions we have, so I always try to make it back home from my trips in time to celebrate.
Christmas in Argentina

Christmas Day in Argentina and, yes, I was absolutely boiling in that jumper!

Passing on the award to more amazing bloggers:

Jodie from The Little Backpacker and Char from Taylor Hearts Travel, I love both of your blogs and get so much travel inspiration from them.

My Questions:

  1. Why did you decide to start blogging and when did you start?
  2. Share one of your favourite travel photos and tell us the story behind it
  3. What is your travel motto?
  4. Who is one of your favourite people you’ve met while travelling?
  5. What is your favourite travel book?
  6. If you could have a month of budget travel or a week or five-star luxury travel, which one would you go for?
  7. What is your most treasured travel souvenir?
  8. Who is your favourite person to travel with?
  9. What is your favourite trip you’ve taken over the last 12 months?
  10. If you could only visit one country again for the rest of your life, which one would it be?
8 responses to “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Great answers sweetheart! I love the photo with you in your xmas jumper on, bet you were very toasty! I love Xmas’s away, Northern Europe is good as it is so festive!
    Answer #6 is a winner, we always have Yorkshire Tea in the truck, although I’ve only every travelled with tea I bought in Malaysia, sure got me new friends in KL 😀

    • I did get a few strange looks when I carried it on to the plane as hand luggage with all of my possessions in it – but it was definitely worth it! Looking forward to reading your answers 🙂

  2. Love this post! And such a great award to keep passing on!

    Also, didn’t know that you worked in Qatar for a bit! (And Yorkshire tea is a necessity – even for expats like me!)

Leave a Reply

