A walk around Borough Market in London

Whenever I travel one of the first places I always head to is the market. I think nothing sums up a town or city like its market and I absolutely love wandering around, looking at all of the new and exotic food and watching the interaction of locals.

So on a recent visit to London I decided to check out one of the capital’s most famous markets: Borough Market, which has been going since 1756. After a long, cold, winter and all of the recent flooding, it was so nice to see so much vibrancy and colour – it really did make me believe that spring must be on the way!

Which are your favourite markets to visit? I’d love to hear!

14 responses to “A walk around Borough Market in London

  1. I love Borough Market! I used to do a wine course near there and walk through as the stalls were all being packed up for the day. So many amazing food producers though that I couldn’t visit without spending a fortune!

  2. Looks like a lot of fun! I always seem out markets when I visit a new city. Seeing the variety of food is a great way to learn about local culture. I’ll definitely check this one out next time I’m in London. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Is it terrible that I lived in London for 5 years and never went to Borough market?! I don’t know why. I think it was because I got told you have to go early and I have enough of getting up early in the week haha! I used to like going to the Sunday markets on Brick Lane. (I think there were a couple. It might have been called the Sunday Upmarket?). There were food stands serving food from all over the world. Delicious! A great place on a sunny Sunday as you can sit outside. Yum.

    • Haha, I’m exactly the same! The thing is there are so many places to visit in London that you’re spoilt for choice and it’s impossible to visit them all! I’ve heard the Brick Lane markets are great, so I’ll have to check them out next time. Thanks!

  4. Spent a hot afternoon at Borough Markets last summer, and loved it! Would definitely go back there to spend the whole day. I also loved Camden Markets, and those markets in Amsterdam. Back home in Sydney, Australia – you cannot go wrong with Glebe Markets πŸ˜‰ I still need to check out markets around here.

  5. I’ve never really been to Borough Market even though I’m so close! I walked through it a couple of weeks ago on a tour but didn’t get time to stop unfortunately. It was completely buzzing with people and all the different food stalls looked yummy so I will definitely be taking a trip back again soon.

  6. Saying I love Borough Market is a gross understatement! I could spend all day there tasting and gawking at everything. I also miss the markets in Seattle. Practically every day of the week you can find a farmers market to hit up. Then of course there’s always the well-known Pike Place market which is full of gorgeous flowers, flying fish, produce, etc.

Leave a Reply

