The grown up gappers who inspired me in 2013

One of the reasons I love running the If We Can Do It, So Can You feature on this blog is that it always inspires me. Sometimes I think it’s really easy to look around at your friends/family members/colleagues and panic that you are not following the same path as them. So for me, one of the beautiful things about the Internet is that it opens up the world. It puts me in touch with other travellers and through it I have come into contact with so many people taking their own ‘grown up gap year’.

What I love most about the If We Can Do It interviews is how different everyone’s trip is. Some people have completely quit their jobs, while others are on a career break and some just travel around their work. The way in which they travel is also really varied and I have learnt so much from reading interviews with travellers like Nicole and Michael from Suitcase Stories, who house sit a lot, and Tom Bruce who cycled around the world. I’ve interviewed people travelling solo, with their partners and even with their kids and each of their adventures is unique and special in its own way.

In 2013 I really enjoyed following other people’s travelling blogs and these are just a few of my favourites:

Rachel Davis aka Vagabond Baker

Not only am I in awe of her amazing cakes and recipes, I also love Rachel’s free spirit. I am especially enjoying visiting her blog at the moment, as she is doing a trip I have always dreamed of on the Trans-Siberian railway. Rachel’s photos are amazing and every blog post brings whichever country she is in to life for the reader, which is what every travel writer should do.

Lucy Dodsworth from On the Luce

What Lucy has taught me is that you can still be adventurous while having a job/home etc. When I got back from my 30b430 trip I experienced something which I think many people do – an anticlimax that my big adventure was over. However Lucy’s blog is packed full of ideas for shorter breaks and days out and just reminds me to enjoy what I already have around me. Sometimes when you’re at home it’s easy to get stuck in a rut so I really like her idea of doing 12 different things over 12 months.

Ayla of Mrs Ayla’s Adventures

Ayla and I bonded on twitter over our love of Africa and I was so excited when she set up her blog last year. It’s been so fun to catch up on some of the experiences she had in Africa, as well as more recent trips like her visit to India. I also love that she makes the most of her home city, volunteering in London Zoo and doing activities like climbing over the O2.

Mark Walsh at Nomadic Blue

I also began chatting with Mark on twitter ahead of his grown up gap year and he’s kept me updated on the progress of his trip. One of the things I like about his blog is that he doesn’t mind sharing some of the lows, as well as the many highs, of travelling. He is also very open to trying new things during his gap year, such as doing some stand up comedy at a club in Asia. That’s one brave man!

I’d like to take the opportunity to say thank you to everyone who has contributed to If We Can Do It. I hope their stories have helped to inspire my readers as much as they’ve inspired me. Do you have a favourite If We Can Do It interview? If so, I’d love to hear which one it is!

Image

8 responses to “The grown up gappers who inspired me in 2013

  1. Thank you so much for including me darling! I love that I am inspiring. You have inspired me too, especially through our #travelbookclub, some of those books have done so much for my strength and desires. Have an amazing 2014 🙂

  2. Aww thank you so much lovely, I’m so touched! I only started my blog as a fun little project to share my adventures with others but it’s so nice to hear that I’ve inspired someone. Your blog and all your help when I was just starting out definitely inspired me! ❤

  3. Thanks so much for a mention – and so glad that I could help you over the post-trip blues, I know that feeling very well! Love reading the If We Can Do It, So Can You interviews, it’s fantastic that there are so many people out there seeing the world in different ways!

Leave a Reply

