Welcome to the grown up gap year!

Hello and welcome to my new blog!

In October 2011 I gave up my job as a journalist and set off on my own grown up gap year – doing a round the world trip, completing 30 challenges before the age of 30 along the way. (You can read more about it in the My Travels section of this site.)

It was something I’d always wanted to do but as I was planning for my trip of a lifetime I realised that deciding to travel when you’re a bit older is quite different to setting off on a gap year straight from college or university. Let’s face it, when you’ve got a job, a mortgage, pets and possibly even children, there’s a lot more planning to do before buying a plane ticket and chucking all of your worldly belongings into a backpack.

During my nine months away, in between dancing a tango in Argentina and drinking tea in a Burmese teashop, I got caught up in a rock fight in Bolivia and became a minor local celebrity in China. I also discovered that travelling at the age of 29 was quite different to when I set off on my first solo trip at the age of 19. I had lots of questions like: Is it ok to go to fancy restaurants every once in a while if you’re backpacking? Or how do you cope when everyone around you is ten years younger?

After completing my 30b430 challenge I decided to set up this blog in order to help other travellers who are setting off on their own trip. I hope you find it helpful and if you have any questions please feel free to throw them my way as I’d love to help.

Happy travels!

Em

Leave a Reply

